Three Taverns Church

Why Counseling?

Leave a comment

I’ve scheduled to meet with a new counselor. Haven’t spoken with a counselor since we moved to Orlando in November. One of the questions on the initial paperwork reads: “Why are you seeking counseling?”

Good question.

Someone to help me fix all my problems? Sounds lovely. And unrealistic. Someone to help me change my life? Maybe, but change it how? Am I just being neurotic? Maybe I should just smoke a joint and relax. But then there’s all the calories associated with the munchies…so, no.

Why do I really want to talk to a counselor? Maybe it’s because I feel like something is wrong with my life. I need an objective third party to tell me if something really is wrong, or if it’s just my existential neurosis kicking in…in which case I’ll need help snapping out of my funk.

I’m not living the life I want to live. I’m not doing the things I want to do. I’m not the kind of person I want to be. I need help figuring out how to get from where I am to where I want to be.

Sound familiar?

Leave a Reply

