Three Taverns Church

Bathrooms: The 21st Century Prayer Closet

Leave a comment

I don’t know what a ‘prayer closet’ is, exactly…I think it’s like a coat closet where people go to pray. I’m not really sure. No one I know has a prayer closet. I’d bet most people I know have never heard the term. But if a prayer closet is a special room in the house where folks can go for the peace & privacy they need to talk to God, then bathrooms really are the new prayer closet. And everyone knows what a bathroom is!

All you moms out there know exactly what I’m talking about, don’t you? The bathroom is probably the only room in your house where you can legitimately expect some peace and privacy…assuming it’s a weekday…during naptime…and your kids are at the neighbor’s. And dads, c’mon…you’ve seen “This Is 40”, right? Paul Rudd lingering with his iPad in the bathroom struck a cord with you because we’ve all been that guy.

You may not pray during those extended bathroom breaks at home or work, but I’ll bet dollars-to-donuts some of your best ideas come when you’re sitting on your porcelain throne. And if you do pray when you’re on the potty, I’m confident of two things: God was listening, and it was the clearest and most honest prayer you offered up that day.

Just so we’re clear, I’m not talking about your trips to the toilet at 2am or after a trip to Tijuana…those trips to the bathroom are anything but peaceful. Don’t get me wrong; I’m sure God was listening to your agonized pleas. But if your water closet is to double as your prayer closet, it’s got to be a peaceful place!

So the next time someone asks you if you’ve got a prayer closet, be sure to direct them to the second door on the left. And leave a candle in there, ’cause let’s face it: Some ‘prayers’ are more fragrant to God than others!

Leave a Reply

