Three Taverns Church

T-Minus 8 Days And Counting

1 Comment

My family and I are now eight days away from leaving Seattle in our Honda Odyssey, a 4’x8′ trailer in tow. We’ve sold most of our furniture; only the beds, an armchair, the dining room table, and a desk remain. We expect to sell most of these remaining items before we leave.

We’ve said goodbye to many of our friends and family, and for my part I’m mentally checked out and ready to hit the road. I’m learning that even though I may not need to say goodbye, other people do.

And in all of the turmoil surrounding this move, the only thing I’m really surprised about is how little stress I feel. I don’t need any more confirmation that I’m following God’s will for my life, but if I did, the peace I feel about this move would do it.

Put yourself in my shoes: You quit your job during a formal review where you received good ratings. You don’t have another job lined up yet. You are selling or giving away nearly everything you own. You are moving to a city you’ve only spent 2 1/2 days in. You don’t know where you’re going to live. Your health insurance will expire at the end of the month, two days into a trip that will take over a week on a drive across the country. You’re leaving behind every familiar person, place and thing; you’re going just about as far as you can go and still be in the Lower 48. You’ll be travelling for over a week with your three small children and your spouse.

And I’m not stressed, which for me is a big deal. I’m excited! I can’t wait to get on the road and see what God has in store for us!

As each day draws us closer to our departure I feel my faith growing: I’m reading Scripture to my kids and “preaching” to my family. I’m listening to sermons from various pastors and speakers at home for fun. I’m getting up early once again to pray and read the Word of God.

I understand that some of you don’t understand what we’re doing or why we’re doing it. So here it is, as simply as I can say it: We have felt the call of God and heard His voice. He wants us in Florida, and he wants us to plant churches. And just wait until you hear what kind of churches he wants us to plant; my MIM peeps know what I’m talking about. 🙂

One thought on “T-Minus 8 Days And Counting

  1. Brother, I’m just so excited for what y’all are setting out to do. You and Lane are such an encouragement to me that God DOES have big plans for all of us. Sometimes we just need to be a) listening intently for that whisper on an airplane, and b) willing to obediently move when He says, “move”. I’ve gone through a similarly “radical” life transition with my former roommate, who is now living in the ghetto of West Montgomery and ministering to the hungry people of this city by living life with them. We serve an awesomely powerful God, and there is nothing we can’t accomplish through His power, His blessing, and His plan. Still can’t wait to see all of you, even if it’s just to share a meal.

Leave a Reply

