Three Taverns Church

T-Minus 27 Days

Leave a comment

We are approximately twenty-seven days from our move and I can hardly wait! This weekend I started putting things aside which I know I want to bring with us, but that meant leaving other things where they were, knowing they will be sold, given away, or simply left in the foreclosed house.

I’ll admit this is a difficult process; there are items with some sentimental value I feel attached to, and there is a process of grieving in letting these things go. Recently I have been reminded over and over of Jesus’ words to not store up treasure for myself  where moths and rust destroy, and where thieves break in and steal…or in this case, where I will have to leave the treasure behind. How much logistically and emotionally easier this move would be if I hadn’t spent the last thirty-five years storing up treasure for myself!

Despite these challenges I am very excited about the next chapter of my life. I believe I can feel God moving and preparing something amazing for my family and I in Florida.

And therein lies the crux of the problem of trying to love both God and Money.

I want to follow God to Florida with the hope that He has something planned, but to do so I will have to leave behind many of my possessions, most of my friends, and quit the highest-paying job I’ve ever had. Conversely I could stick around Seattle, but ignore God’s calling. When I look at it like that, it’s easy to understand where the Apostle Paul was coming from when he wrote Philippians 3:8: “Indeed, I count everything as loss because of the surpassing worth of knowing Christ Jesus my Lord. For his sake I have suffered the loss of all things and count them as rubbish, in order that I may gain Christ.” (ESV)

This is so exciting! Jesus Christ is offering me the chance to know Him and all I have to do is give up a salary and a few used furniture pieces. I’ll take that deal six days a week and twice on Sunday!

Leave a Reply

