Three Taverns Church

I Am Who I Am

1 Comment

It didn’t occur to me until I created the title for this post, but these are the exact words God gives Moses to convince the Israelites that Moses was on a mission for Him:

Exodus 2:14 “God said to Moses, “I AM who I AM. This is what you are to say to the Israelites: ‘I AM has sent me to you.’”

Talk about a major creepy-cool factor!

God is perfect, not because he is  flawless in the classic Greco-Roman sense, but because He is completely congruent with Himself. He IS who He IS, 100%. I want to be more like God; I want to be completely congruent with myself. I want to be able to say with all honesty that I am who I am. I think God wants this kind of authenticity for all of us; that’s why He presented Himself this way on the eve of the Israelites’ exodus from Egypt.

I had a vision the other day that I was standing behind a door, straining with all my might to keep it shut. On the other side of the door was a dark and terrible force on the verge of bursting through. My ‘self’ holding the door shut knew he couldn’t hold it closed forever, but he wanted to hold on as long as possible to protect something.

I think the dark force on the other side of the door is the real ‘me’, or a part of me which I have denied; my own “I AM”. But this other part of me isn’t necessarily evil, it only feels dark because it is so threatening to the false, incomplete self I have lived as for so long.

I am who I am. I will be who I will be.

What about you? Will you be who you are?

One thought on “I Am Who I Am

  1. Great post, RM. I can really relate to this. I pray each and every night, “God, please help me to be the man You want me to be.” And I even know the areas that I need to improve, or I need to let God cleanse, but I FIGHT IT with everything I’ve got some days. In “Mere Christianity”, C.S. Lewis talks about how, as humans, we are loathe to change. We like things to be familiar and predictable. And we are willing to stay a certain way or in a certain circumstance, even if to do so is entirely unhealthy and self-destructive, because at least it is familiar, and we are “comforted” by our (falsely) presumed control of our situation.

    I am encouraged, though, because I also know that I am NOT who I once was. In a way, I already am who I am. Every moment of every day, I know that I am a work in progress, that God is not through molding and refining me. And I can look back on my self 10 years ago, and I can see the changes that have occurred in me, most times for the better but sometimes for the worse. And while I am certainly not satisfied with where I am now, I am SO thankful for God’s changing power in my life. And I look with hope and anticipation towards the future and what God-directed changes await me. It won’t always be comfortable, and that is scary, but knowing that God is in control, and the assurance that I can depend on Him,is all the comfort that I really need.

Leave a Reply

