Three Taverns Church

Getting Robbed

3 Comments

Sorry I haven’t posted much in the last few weeks folks. As I explained to one of the blog’s readers, fastmov4, I was on an extended backpacking trip, and shortly after I got back our house was broken into and (among other things) my laptop was stolen. Work has been ridiculously busy and I haven’t had a real chance until today to write anything.

Getting robbed isn’t a new thing for me; I grew up in a part of Hawaii that was pretty rough. As a kid I wasn’t allowed to go out at night for fear that I’d get jumped by the locals. Our house was broken into several times, including once while we were all asleep. The fear and sense of violation that accompanies burglaries wasn’t new to me this time around so my reaction was fairly calm.

Not so for my wife. She’s never been robbed like this before and she was fairly upset by the whole thing (understandably so). When she asked me why I wasn’t more upset like she was, I could only point to two things:

1. My past experience getting robbed. As with anything in life, the more practice you have at something the easier it gets
2. God is helping me process the event. We had just heard a great sermon about the sovereignty of God; how everything is His and He should rightly be given all power and authority in our lives

I want you to read the verses below and consider whether or not you are allowing God to be truly sovereign in your life. Are you willing to accept the good and the bad? Are you willing to stop praying for blessing and simply ask for His will to be done?

Job 1:20-21 “Job stood up and tore his robe in grief. Then he shaved his head and fell to the ground to worship. He said, ‘I came naked from my mother’s womb, and I will be naked when I leave. The Lord gave me what I had, and the Lord has taken it away. Praise the name of the Lord!” (NLT)

Matthew 6:19-21 “Don’t store up treasures here on earth, where moths eat them and rust destroys them, and where thieves break in and steal. Store your treasures in heaven, where moths and rust cannot destroy, and thieves do not break in and steal. Wherever your treasure is, there the desires of your heart will also be.” (NLT)

3 thoughts on “Getting Robbed

  1. great reminder. how was your trip?

  2. We need not “stop praying for blessing” as we ask for His will to be done. The devil is always trying to discredit God’s goodness and willingness to bless us with “life” and life more abundantly. Even in the midst of evil, it is God’s will to bring forth Good, for those who love Him.

  3. Mary,
    – Step 11, of the 12 Steps of Alcoholics Anonymous: “…praying only for knowledge of His will for us, and the power to carry that out.”
    – Matthew 6:9-13: “Pray like this: ‘Our Father in heaven, may your name be kept holy. May your Kingdom come soon. May your will be done on earth, as it is in heaven. Give us today the food we need, and forgive us our sins, as we have forgiven those who sin against us. And don’t let us yield to temptation, but rescue us from the evil one.” (NLT)

    I am tired of treating God like a Cosmic Vending Machine. If He wants to bless me, I will praise and thank him. If he withholds blessing and/or withdraws blessing, I hope I will have the courage to praise him.

Leave a Reply

