Three Taverns Church

Addicted To Relationships

5 Comments

“You are addicted to relationships” Mothers, Sons & Lovers – by Michael Gurian

Yes, I’m addicted to the approval I get from people I’m in a relationship with. Unless they criticize me, at which point I’m likely to go to the other extreme and say, “To hell with them.” I need to feel the approval of others, and know that they want to be around me. Ending a relationship is very hard or me to do, because I’m losing a source of affirmation. When other people are the ones to end the relationship I feel very hurt and I respond with defensive anger.

Are you addicted to relationships? How has this affected your life?

5 thoughts on “Addicted To Relationships

  1. Yes i have been addicted to relationships! I still find that one of the hardest battles to fight. I find that those triggers are the hardest to let go of. Learning to create healthy boundaries and understanding my true identity in God is whats made the difference of late.

    • I think my problem is that when I hear people say “my true identity in God” I hear Christian-ese, or church talk. What I’m looking for is the boy/man I SHOULD HAVE grown up to be. No doubt that person is firmly rooted in God, but by avoiding the cliche language I’m personally able to get a better mental picture of what I’m striving for.

  2. Agreed i am still trying to decontaminate from a bad religious experience myself. hmm thanks for the food for thought. Glad i am not the only one searching for “the boy/man I SHOULD HAVE grown up to be”.

  3. Greetings from Los angeles! I’m bored to tears at work so I decided to browse your site on my iphone during lunch break. I really like the info you present here and can’t wait to take a look when I get
    home. I’m surprised at how fast your blog loaded on my cell phone .. I’m not even using WIFI, just 3G .
    . Anyways, great site!

Leave a Reply

