Three Taverns Church

Proving You Are A Man

Leave a comment

“You want to prove you are a man whenever possible, especially in the company of women or men you consider superior to you.” – Mothers, Sons & Lovers by Michael Gurian

I don’t look at this so much as proving I’m a “man”, instead more about trying to prove that I’m “good enough” to be in their company. It’s not always masculine stuff, it could be proving that I’m funny enough, attractive enough, or smart enough. But it’s always on my mind that I need to prove to other people that I’m worth their time and attention.

Do you ever feel this way? If so, how do you respond to the feeling that you must ‘prove yourself’ to others?

Leave a Reply

