Three Taverns Church

Apathy For The Church

8 Comments

Yesterday I posted what was, in my opinion, the most controversial piece I’ve ever written in the relatively short history of my blog.

The response: 2 ‘likes’, no comments.

It shocks me that no-one had anything to say about my assertion that churches should do away with paid staff and pastors, own no property, and receive no tax benefits of any kind. The dearth of commentary suggests at least four possibilities:

  1. I missed my core readership with the post
  2. Readers thought I was ‘nuts’ and figured it wasn’t worth their time to comment
  3. Most of my readers are family, friends, and acquaintances who didn’t have the heart to tell me what a ridiculous, poorly written, and logically corrupt post it was
  4. People feel apathetic toward the Church

If apathy is the reason people didn’t comment on my radical post (and I suspect it is), that should give everyone in the Church pause. Is the Church so broken that people just don’t care what happens to it anymore? Have our denominations squabbled over doctrine and opinion to the point where people assume there is no Church left to save? Or do people assume that the Church can’t be saved?

When I bring up my concerns about the Church in conversation the most common response I hear by far is some variation of: “There are no perfect churches because there are no perfect people.” Translation: Don’t bother trying to change the system.

Apathy.

Sorry Rosa Parks and Martin Luther King Jr., your fight for civil liberty was a waste of time because there are no perfect people.

George Washington, Thomas Jefferson, Ben Franklin and Abraham Lincoln, I’ve got some bad news for you gentlemen: There are no perfect governments because there are no perfect people. Sorry you wasted your lives on a lost cause.

Hey, Martin Luther, everybody knows there is no perfect Church because there are no perfect people. Please take those theses down from the church door before someone reads them and realizes the survival of the Church depends upon the impetus of radical change, not the decay of apathetic compromise.

8 thoughts on “Apathy For The Church

  1. I read your previous post and my silence was based on option number 2. Well, I did not actually think that you were ‘nuts’, but I did think that you have a little misdirected resentment. I assumed that you were having a difficult time with something and I did not comment because I was trying to extend you a little Grace. But if you want to know what I think, I think you are wrong about this.. But I do like some of your other stuff..

    That is just me two cents 🙂

    • Sorry, I also meant to say that if I’d written this post 60 days ago I would agree that I have “a little misdirected resentment”. But today, I think it’s accurate to say that my motivation stems from seeing what Church could be, what Church should be, and comparing that to what Church really is on a weekly basis. As the joke goes, “I’m not mad, I’m just…disappointed.”

      • It’s OK to be disappointed as long as you remain hopefull. I would challange you to go back and revisited your thoughts on the church a year from now. I suspect that your thoughts might be a little different.

        I would also like to tell you that I have enjoyed reading your blog. I came a across it by chance a few days ago and I have found some of your posts very helpful. I have a friend who has recently entered recovery for an addiction and our blog has been very enlighting to me. 🙂

      • Oh, and I also meant to say that my friend loves and hates my honesty all at the same time. Last time we spoke he told me that I would be hearing from him again somewhere around step 9 😦

  2. Sorry for the silence. I will go back and comment now. 🙂

  3. RM, I don’t disagree with you. Here’s a question that was asked a few years ago and applied now to the Church: is it too big to fail? Would the public acknowledgement and falling the Modern Church be too much of a tragedy for the Western church to recover it? Yes and no. I think it would be more than we could handle on our own, but that’s been the problem for quite a while now, huh? The whole point is “not in my strength, but in His strength!” Nothing is impossible with God.
    Me personally, I am working to change things from within the Church. And by God’s grace and power, my friends and I are seeing those changes start. It is truly amazing to see God’s plan unfold, especially when we started out moving in a slightly different direction and had to be “steered” a bit. Perhaps I am limiting myself or making things a little harder by working within the confines of the current system. I think, though, that given social characteristics based on my geography and demography, it is the path that God is wanting me to follow. After all, the Church is well-established from a structural and organizational standpoint. That may be directly against what you’re speaking of. But it also represents an incredible potential to change this world through God’s multiplying power.

Leave a Reply

