Three Taverns Church

God, Now Is Not A Good Time

2 Comments

“There is no way God can control our minds when our minds are being dominated by something that occurred in the past.” Joe McQ, The Steps We Took

(knock knock) “Stephen? It’s God here. May I come in?”

“Hi Lord, sure come on…oh great, there’s that guy again. MAN I can’t stand that guy!”

“Stephen, are you OK? You seem a little stressed out.”

“Oh, I’m fine God, just fine. I’ve been reading your Word, going to church, you know, I’m doing just great. Too bad that guy over there is such a screw up. I’ll bet he doesn’t go to church or read the Bible every morning!”

“Stephen, listen, the reason I stopped by today was to tell you something very important that will change your life for the better.”

“Really, Lord? Wow, that would be great! But listen, before you tell me, can we please talk about that guy over there? Do you know what he said to me the other day? Or what he’s been telling people about me? What a tool! He’s such a jerk, I can’t stand him. I mean, sure, we’re all Your children, blah, blah, blah.  I know all that. But that guy…he just gets me so steamed!!”

“Stephen, this really is very important, and I need you to focus and listen to what I have to say. It’s going to change your life.”

“Lord, honestly, could you maybe come back later? This isn’t a very good time for me. I’m really hurting from what that guy over there did to me a while back, and I can’t let it go. Every time I see him or think about him I get really angry, and right now it’s taking all I’ve got not to go pound him into the ground. I just don’t have time right now for a talk, God, but maybe once this guy is gone and isn’t pissing me off anymore, maybe then you could come back and tell me whatever it is that’s on your mind. That would be great, thanks.”

2 thoughts on “God, Now Is Not A Good Time

  1. Wow. This is so true. I am facing a similar situation right now, letting a person dominate my thoughts occasionally in a very negative way. It’s someone I’m working to forgive, but Satan continues using even mentions of their name to fuel blood-letting thoughts in me. God, please forgive me for thinking of one of your sons like that, and please help me to forgive him in the same way the You’ve forgiven me and continue to forgive me.

Leave a Reply

