Three Taverns Church

Exchange Your Striving For Humility

2 Comments

“In all these strivings, so many of them well-intentioned, our crippling handicap had been our lack of humility. We had lacked the perspective to see that character-building and spiritual value had to come first, and that material satisfactions were not the purpose of living.” Twelve Steps and Twelve Traditions

After more than a year in recovery, I am still striving; it is a character defect I need to surrender. During my active addiction I turned to my addiction to “dream greater dreams” when I was succeeding; when I was frustrated I turned to my addiction to ‘zone out’. Humility must put an end to my striving. I must learn to accept what is, not what I think I want or deserve.

A promotion will not make me happy. A bigger house will not satisfy my soul. A nicer car to drive, a trip to Hawaii, or a new wardrobe will not fill the aching hole inside me.

I guess I have gained some perspective in the program, but perhaps not as much as I had hoped…just the other day I had a conversation with my boss wherein I very clearly stated my desire for a promotion. So my striving is not dead, yet. I must learn this humility business. I need to remind myself every day that God is working at building my character through the trials of my life. Success without a sound character and spiritual health always results in abject misery. Success without wisdom is disastrous.

God is trying to teach me things every day; every day He is trying to increase my wisdom and faith. When I strive for material satisfaction I get in the way of God’s work.

2 thoughts on “Exchange Your Striving For Humility

  1. I think this is also where patience comes into play as well. God wants us to be happy, but not at all costs. And He wants us to find our happiness and joy in Him. I constantly struggle with patiently waiting on God’s schedule, because things are not happening as quickly as I would like them to. Ultimately, I have to admit that I am not ready for the things that I want (or the world is not ready for the things I want!) and I have to sit back and reflect on the fact that I usually make a mess out of things when I push too hard for something.

Leave a Reply

