Three Taverns Church

Self Talk, Part 6: Omnipotence

Leave a comment

Do you often find yourself trying to control other people? Do you angrily confront people and insist that they must agree with you? Are you constantly striving for power in your relationships at work or your personal life?

If you answered ‘Yes’ to any of these questions, read the following paragraph aloud twice a day for the next thirty days and watch your relationships flourish!

I do not blame myself inappropriately for the negative actions and attitudes of others who are not under my control, and I am not plagued by guilt or self-condemnation. I understand that I am not the center of the universe, and because I’m not in control of other adults I am not responsible for them, only for myself. I relate to people effectively as a friendly collaborator, and I am not threatened when others disagree with my ideas or fail to follow my advice. People frequently listen to and respect my ideas because I do not polarize them with an angry insistence that they must agree with me. I don’t try to dominate people; my relationships with my children, friends, and work associates are characterized by mutuality rather than dependency.

 
 
Adapted from the Prodigals International Homecoming Recovery Manual

Leave a Reply

