Three Taverns Church

Step 7 Word Study

Leave a comment

“Humbly asked Him to remove all our shortcomings.” Step 7 of the 12 Steps of Alcoholics Anonymous

Humbly – As in, not demanding. Not: “Well God, you brought me here, so go ahead and do whatever it is you’re going to do to me” or, “I don’t really agree that these things are character defects, but my mentor says they are so go ahead and take them…I guess…” My shortcomings are my responsibility and though God loves me, He is under no obligation to heal me. I must come before Him humbly to receive forgiveness and healing.

Asked Him – As in, not “Take them!” or “Do it!” I cannot demand that God remove my shortcomings; if I do, I misunderstand God and my relationship with Him. I cannot be ambivalent about my shortcomings, either; God does not respond to “whatever” prayers. Instead my prayer should be, “Please God, do for me what I cannot do for myself.”

To remove – As in, not just putting a patch over my shortcomings or relying upon a temporary solution. I must ask God to remove my defects, to take them from me completely. I do not want to stop being selfish for only a little while, or to only be half-selfish, or to be selfish only when it is to my benefit. I want God to remove my shortcomings forever.

All my shortcomings – All of them. Not just the ones that are convenient or the ones I am aware of…I need God to remove all of my shortcomings. I will be the first to admit this is easier said than done. I have several shortcomings which I try to rationalize are not really shortcomings; I really don’t want to give them up. I am afraid that life will somehow be less without these defects, rather than more. But if the things I am afraid to give up really are shortcomings, they are limiting my life far more than I am aware. I need to ignore the lies of my ego and Satan, and humbly ask God to remove all of my shortcomings.

Leave a Reply

