Three Taverns Church

Mea Culpa

4 Comments

I realized this morning why some of my recent posts were angry: I wasn’t taking my own advice.

I believe that makes me a hypocrite.

Time to get back on track.

I chose to respond to the sin of people close to me with my own flavor of sin. What I should have done was stick to ‘my side of the street’ and not responded in kind to those who don’t like the ideas I’m trying to communicate.

My mentor reminded me this week that I can’t change anybody else, and that my attempts to do so are a manifestation of my ‘controller’ character defect. I can only change myself, and even then it is really God at work in me and not my own power or will.

The Holy Spirit reminded me this week that those things which I am most angry about with regard to other people and the church are really the things I dislike most about myself. And while I can’t change the church or other people, I can let God change the dysfunctional parts of me.

Pray for me that God will continue the good work He began in me, and bring it to completion.

4 thoughts on “Mea Culpa

  1. Wow, the Holy Spirit reminded me of the EXACT same thing this week…yesterday, actually. I may write about the details sometime in the future. Thanks for posting.

  2. When you see your brother’s faults you are looking at your own. You have a wise mentor – to err is human, you’ll be fine. 🙂

  3. Keep chasing after God. Keep running into His outstretched arms! Blessed are the merciful,for they will be shown Mercy.

  4. Pingback: How To Pray For Those You Resent « rabidmongoose

Leave a Reply

