Three Taverns Church

The Effect Of Sin On Natural Desires

6 Comments

“Since most of us are born with an abundance of natural desires, it isn’t strange that we often let these far exceed their intended purpose.” Twelve Steps and Twelve Traditions, Step 6

I think this quote sums up the Fall of Man fairly effectively.

  • God created woman to be with man, but sin turns healthy relationships into abusive and co-dependent ones
  • God commanded humans to reproduce within a loving relationship, but sin turns healthy sexuality into lust, adultery, prostitution and rape
  • God created humanity to be in fellowship with Him, but sin turns our will against God

Sin knows no limits and has no boundaries; it corrupts every natural desire that God created in us. Sin has wreaked havoc on my own sexual desire and emotional development. For years I indulged my lust rather than fostering true intimacy and love; I tried to satisfy myself because I was too impatient, immature and selfish to wait on God or anyone else.

My desire for acceptance is completely overblown and far exceeds the purpose for which it was intended. There is a natural desire for social acceptance and approval inherent in humanity (otherwise we would not have societies) but instead of creating community my craving for acceptance tears down relationships; I ride roughshod over my own boundaries in a vain attempt to get people to notice me and approve of me. It’s not enough for me to know that I am well thought-of, liked, and respected my many people. No,everyone must like and accept me. I am so insecure that I have adopted an all-or-nothing concept of acceptance, which is ridiculous.

Which of your natural desires has sin taken control of?

6 thoughts on “The Effect Of Sin On Natural Desires

  1. More than one, but my desire for acceptance has been severely hijacked.
    When I sense rejection from someone, I perceive it has rejection from Christ.

    • Thank you for sharing. Yes, that’s a tough one. I’m learning to establish healthy mental boundaries right now, such that I can experience ‘rejection’ of my ideas by someone and not feel rejected myself.

  2. My desire to be a “good mom” sometimes turns me into an impatient, overbearing, and angry person.

  3. RM – like you, lust has destroyed my ability to develop intimacy in my closest relationships. Also like you, my own selfishness and pettiness (particularly in regards to communication) is keeping me from fulfilling the plan God has set before me.

Leave a Reply

