Three Taverns Church

Overcoming Fear – Day 1: Are you ready for some football?

2 Comments

It’s time to put my money where my mouth is. After playing fantasy football for years (and winning a few championships along the way) it’s time to step up my game and take a shot at true FFB glory.

I’ve been saying for years that my analytical and technical skills as a finance analyst would help me win competitive tournaments if only I had access to the necessary raw data. But to be honest I’ve hidden behind the cost of acquiring that data so I wouldn’t have to risk making good on my threats. “If I enter a tournament and lose,” I rationalized, “it will prove that I’m not as good as I like to believe.” Never mind the fun I would have just competing, or the fact that I might be just as good as I think I am and actually win! No, my fear of losing has held me back.

Today, as the first challenge of my 30-day Overcoming Fear series, I have decided to compete nationally in a fantasy football tournament this fall. My father and brother will be fronting the cash required for the data acquisition and tournament entry fees; I will supply the technical know-how and fantasy expertise. Yes, I am nervous that I might lose…but I’m also very excited at the chance to compete and see just how far I can go!

2 thoughts on “Overcoming Fear – Day 1: Are you ready for some football?

  1. I have been playing for several years as well. I was the only woman in my league until year before last. A new woman joined us and WON. I have yet to win. Not ready for the big leap you are undertaking. Good Luck. Can’t wait to see how it goes.

    • Thank you! I’m excited/scared to give things a shot at the next level…but I figure I’ve got all this experience doing analysis for OTHER people, it’s about time I used my skills to help myself. 🙂

Leave a Reply

