Three Taverns Church

New Series Introduction: Overcoming Fear

3 Comments

“A fear is keeping them from doing something, and it really isn’t true. If they could only see the truth, the fear, they could do whatever they wanted to.” – Joe McQ, The Steps We Took

“The only thing we have to fear is fear itself.” Franklin D. Roosevelt

I have been a fearful person for most of my life. My fears are the greatest obstacles to the achievement of my life goals and the growth of my faith.

It’s time for things to change.

Each day for the next 30 days I am going to confront one of my fears and write about the results. Some ground rules for this exercise in growth:

  1. I will start each day in prayer, asking God to reveal the fear He wants me to work on
  2. No activities with a high likelihood of resulting in serious injury or death (skydiving, maybe; picking a fight with a suspected gang member, no)
  3. Nothing that will compromise my faith
  4. Nothing that will jeopardize my family in any way (See #2)
  5. Nothing that will put a considerable financial burden on my family (Again, see #2)

To my fellow bloggers: I encourage you to take up this challenge for a day or two and write about the results. If you are willing, I’d love to share your stories here.

Wish me luck! I hope you enjoy the series.

Rabid Mongoose

3 thoughts on “New Series Introduction: Overcoming Fear

  1. This is a great ‘habit’ to get into. It’s how we can challenge ourselves and continue growing. Good call to action. 🙂

  2. Pingback: courage, faith, fear, hope, and beliefs « power of language blog: partnering with reality by JR Fibonacci

Leave a Reply

