Three Taverns Church

A vision of what could be

6 Comments

One year ago today I had a ‘vision’ and I recorded the details in my journal; I want to share that vision with you. My hope is that you will find something to encourage and uplift you. Here we go:

“Just as I can almost see myself complete and a whole man, without the holes and defects of an ‘arrested development’, so Jesus sees us as the men and women we could be if not for the burden and the break of sin, which has separated and rendered us from God, so that (on our own) we can no longer be His children but are cursed to living half-lives. But Jesus sees us as whole and complete in God, so we can find this complete and holy version of ourselves through Christ and identification with Him.

There is a whole ‘man’ that I could be, happy and secure, but my vision is clouded and makes that difficult to attain. My character defects are like holes missing from me, and my whole sense of self is blurry and confused, which is why I live in the fear and grip of the moment, never really knowing who I am or what I’m doing.

But Jesus can fill these defects, somehow, and make me complete again, because He sees me without sin, He sees me whole; He sees me clearly. I can see this, too, through Him.

We all have major flaws and defects which make it impossible to be who we could be. I almost, for a moment, had a vision of myself as a whole, strong, complete, powerful person, but my character defects take all of my attention and energy, so I cannot see myself as I ‘could be’. But Jesus does see us this way. Sin is the root of our incompleteness, but Jesus forgives our sins and is thus able to see us as we could be.

So to see ourselves whole we must see ourselves through Christ. Jesus is the key to a complete picture of ourselves.”

Genesis 3:5-76 “‘God understands what will happen on the day you eat fruit from that tree. You will see what you have done, and you will know the difference between right and wrong, just as God does.’ The woman stared at the fruit. It looked beautiful and tasty. She wanted the wisdom that it would give her, and she ate some of the fruit. Her husband was there with her, so she gave some to him, and he ate it too. At once they saw what they had done, and they realized they were naked. Then they sewed fig leaves together to cover themselves.” (CEV)

Romans 6:11-13 “In the same way, you must think of yourselves as dead to the power of sin. But Christ Jesus has given life to you, and you live for God. Don’t let sin rule your body. After all, your body is bound to die, so don’t obey its desires or let any part of it become a slave of evil. Give yourselves to God, as people who have been raised from death to life. Make every part of your body a slave that pleases God.” (CEV)

 

6 thoughts on “A vision of what could be

  1. Great Post….love this vision! I think Christian men everywhere need to read this, but the following paragraph really packs a punch:

    “There is a whole ‘man’ that I could be, happy and secure, but my vision is clouded and makes that difficult to attain. My character defects are like holes missing from me, and my whole sense of self is blurry and confused, which is why I live in the fear and grip of the moment, never really knowing who I am or what I’m doing.”

    • “never really knowing who I am or what I’m doing.” Jesus filled all our “holes” when he died on the cross for ALL our sins, past, present AND future. It was a complete work. His dying word on the cross was “It is finished.”

      We are already whole but as we focus on our shortcomings and sins—for the purpose of getting rid of them so that we can be perfect—we lose track of WHO WE ARE IN CHRIST. “KNOWING WHO I AM” comes by knowing who HE, CHRIST IS! We are made in HIS IMAGE AND LIKENESS. We are NOT God, but we died with Him on the cross and we rose with Him on the third day, fully redeemed. Paul reminds us in Gal.2:20, “I have been crucified with Christ; it is no longer I who live, but Christ lives in me; and the life which I now live in the flesh I live by faith in the Son of God, who loved me and gave Himself for me.”

      Is.26:3 says, “You will keep him in perfect peace, whose mind is stayed on YOU, because he trusts in You.” And again in Is.26:12, ” Lord, You will establish peace for us, for You have also done all our works in us.” And, Psalm 37:5-6 says, “Commit your way to the Lord, Trust also in Him, and He shall bring forth your righteousness as the light, and your justice as the noonday.”

      “KNOWING WHAT I’M DOING” comes from becoming a complete “human BEING” rather than a complete (sin-free) “human DOING”. Our “doing” is “be-ing”, that is, being Present to God at all times as we go about our daily lives—believing at all times in Jesus and knowing HIM. Jesus told the people what they should be “doing”. In John 6:26-29 Jesus says, ‘Do not labor for the food which perishes, but for the food which endures to everlasting life, which the Son of Man will give you, because God the Father has set His seal on Him.’ Then they said to Him, ‘What shall we do that we may work the works of God?’ Jesus answered and said to them, (‘THIS IS THE WORK OF GOD, THAT YOU BELIEVE IN HIM WHOM HE SENT’).” (Boldface emphasis added)

      • Mary, thank you for the thorough response! I think you have some great points here. Let me start with something that I disagree with, though. I don’t agree that we are already whole. I say this from personal experience and biblical authority. From a personal perspective, I was not ‘whole’ in my addiction, though I had believed on the name of Jesus Christ. From a biblical perspective, I think we work on these ‘holes’ and character defects when we “work out our salvation in fear and trembling.”
        Having said that, I love your point about human ‘be-ings’ not human ‘do-ings’. God has spoken to me through a rather large number of people who have told me, over and over, “You need to stop trying to ‘do’, and just ‘be’.” This has become a powerful mantra for me, and I agree with you that when I stop trying to ‘do’ and ‘just be’ God’s work in me seems to speed up a bit. Thanks again for the thought-provoking response!

  2. Thanks New View, I really appreciate the encouragement. I did a bad sketch in my journal to go along with this entry, trying to visualize this idea of an incomplete person. We will be made complete someday!

  3. I believe that we are already complete, we just don’t realize it yet. That is what we will realize as we “BELIEVE IN HIM WHOM HE (GOD) SENT, JESUS. John 6:26-29; Gal.2:20.

Leave a Reply

