Three Taverns Church

Get Ready For Gardening Season

Leave a comment

It’s that time of year: In just a few weeks I’ll be tilling over 100 lbs. of cow poo into my garden plot to prepare the soil for seed sowing. I’m particularly excited about this year’s garden because I discovered that I don’t have to buy any new seed…aparently I have enough left over from last summer! I generally over-plant because I love gardening and don’t mind the extra work; I also love giving food away. Hearing, “That lettuce was fantastic!” from your friends never gets old.

I’ll be posting updates to my garden here including planting times, pests encountered, organic fertilization schedule and pictures. Here’s a list of what I’ll be planting this year (I buy most of my seed from Territorial Seed Company):

  • Cherry Belle Radishes
  • Cilantro
  • Ching-Chiang Pac Choy
  • Zucchini
  • Olympia Hybrid Spinach
  • Arctic King Lettuce
  • Flash Hybrid Collards
  • Green Wave Mustards
  • Blue Curled Scotch Kale
  • Sunset Pole Beans
  • Kentucky Blue Beans
  • Misono Bush Beans
  • Pacific Pearl Onions
  • White Lisbon Onions

If you’ve always wanted to start a garden, make this your spring to begin!

See you out there.

Rabid Mongoose

Leave a Reply

