Three Taverns Church

Rock-Hard Abs

Leave a comment

The other day my wife scored about 1,000,000 bonus points when she told me that I reminded her of the statue of David. The reason for this compliment? My new workout routine, which involves no gym or related fees and not a single video or piece of equipment that needed purchasing (other than my already-owned running shoes). I’ve been at this routine for about 7 weeks now and the results have been impressive. I don’t think I’ve ever been this strong, fast, or conditioned. I work out outside in the neighborhood around my office building at lunch time, and I use whatever I can to creatively mix things up. The results have been so positive for me that I wanted to share it with you so that you can benefit from it as well. The best part: It’s free. You just have to be willing to work. Follow the examples below 3-5 days per week and I’ll bet that in 6-8 weeks you’ll be feeling strong, too!

Option 1: Go for a run; 3-6 miles would be ideal. Assuming you are listening to music (does anyone run without music anymore?), stop every 3rd song to bust out 12-15 push-ups and hold a plank position (forearms and toes touching the ground, back and abs held firm, as if a broomstick was laying lengthwise from your head to your legs) for 20 seconds. Depending on how far you ran and how fast you were running, you’ll probably end up doing 50-100 push-ups and will have held a plank position for several minutes.

Option 2: Mixed Training; I’ll super-set these exercises (meaning I combine 3-4 of each of the following exercises into one ‘super set’), doing 3-4 super sets per day. Mix and match to your heart’s delight. I love the fact that no workout ever has to be the same! To give you an example, I’ll do push-ups, plank, pull-ups and squats back-to-back-to-back-to-back, three times. That’s one super-set.

– standard push-ups, 12-15

– plank, 20 seconds (I use telephone pole cross-bars)

– pull-ups, 8

– squats, 10-12

– lunges, 8-12

– twisting lunges, 8-12 (lunge forward, then pretend to hold a medicine ball in your hands and twist side-to-side)

– decline push-ups (find some stairs, put your feet 2-3 stairs up so that your feet are higher than your head)

– dips (use the edge of a bench to raise and lower yourself, keeping your knees bent)

– stairs, 2-3 flights (you should be running these)

– hills, 2-3 (find a short, steep hill and sprint to the top)

– low-wall hop, 8 (find a 2-3 foot wall and jump up to the top and back down with both feet)

– quick feet, 15 (find some steps, and step up and down as fast as you can)

– side-raise push-ups, 8-12 (keep your feet shoulder-width apart, push up, then raise your right arm to the side; repeat on the left side)

– rock lift, 8 (find a big rock. lift it straight up in front of you to shoulder height, keeping your knees slightly bent. this one has the added advantage of being able to throw the rock down like a Viking when you’re done!)

These are just some examples to get you started. Once you get out there you’ll find new ways to push yourself. It is so much more fun than pushing around the same weights in the gym over and over. Good luck! And if you have any questions, let me know.

Leave a Reply

